Off Road Dirt Bikes

Dirt Bike - News & Events

Waters, Cachia and Lamont claim Murray Bridge Monster Energy MX Nationals

Murray Bridge, SA – Motul Pirelli Suzuki’s Todd Waters became the first Australian to win a round of the Monster Energy MX Nationals when Murray Bridge in South Australia played host to round five of 2012 on Sunday, 20 May.

The 21-year-old topped an all-star international field to win for the Aussies on home soil in the premier MX1 ranks, taking two brilliant victories to commence the round. He clinched the win with a close second in the final 30-minute moto, handing him a debut win for Suzuki.

Waters’ podium was his fourth in five rounds since switching to the RM-Z450 for this season and he now sits second in the championship, just 21 points behind leader Josh Coppins at the halfway point.

“It was pretty much just a picture perfect day,” Waters explained. “I got three good starts, was in the top three for all of them. The first moto I holeshotted and led from start to finish, then in the second moto I was up front again and made the pass halfway through.

“I had a ball riding with Brad [Anderson] in the final moto, dicing for the lead, and I enjoyed it. I didn’t get the win in that one, but I had a lot of fun. I love this track and it’s one of my favourites, so it was good to come back and win. My fitness is great, I’ve been working really hard, so I’m just looking forward to this six-week break to redo my base fitness.”

British champion Brad Anderson claimed second for Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing after winning the third and final moto of the round, keeping himself in the hunt for the championship following a disappointing round in WA a week prior. Anderson finished second in moto one and fifth in moto two.

Privateer standout Tye Simmonds made it two Hondas on the podium in third overall, marking his second top three of the year. Simmonds was fifth in moto one, then battled to second after leading early on in moto two. The third moto saw Simmonds round out his weekend with a fourth.

Completing the top five overall was CDR Yamaha’s Lawson Bopping in fourth for the round, while Waters’ teammate Cody Cooper finished fifth for the second weekend in a row.

CDR Yamaha’s Coppins was sixth in South Australia after an incident with Jake Moss in the final moto spoiled his day. Prior to that, Coppins had finished third in moto one and sixth in moto two. The GP legend will now head to Europe during the mid-season break.

The Pirelli MX2 category saw Josh Cachia race to JDR/KTM Factory Racing’s first victory of the 2012 season. Cachia finished with a fifth in the opening moto before breaking through for a win in moto two, then he sealed the overall with a fighting second to conclude the round.

“In the first moto I rode solid, got stuck behind some people, but that’s racing,” Carpenter Rocks resident Cachia explained. “If you don’t get a good start you don’t get in clean air, so that was my fault. In moto two I sorted it out, got the holeshot and felt good.

“The feeling from the holeshot continued in the moto and I was feeling good the whole time, so I put down consistent laps and won. In the 30-minute moto, Boydy and I worked hard until the end, so it was sweet. I rode solid and it was good, so now I’m number one for today and that feels good.”

DPH Motorsport Honda’s Cheyne Boyd claimed his second podium in a row with a well-deserved victory in the final moto at Murray Bridge after holding off Cachia in the closing stages. Boyd opened the round with a second in moto one, but an eighth in moto two after a crash dashed his hopes of the overall victory.

The final podium position in MX2 went to moto one winner Ford Dale. The Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing rider had Ben Townley in his corner on this weekend, but he too suffered from a crash in moto two that left him 15th. Dale bounced back to third in the final moto and overall.

Series leader Luke Styke was fifth overall at Murray Bridge behind MX Factory Honda’s Justin McDonald, who scored a season-best fourth. Serco Yamaha Metal Mulisha Racing’s Styke had a disastrous first moto, but salvaged his round with a second and a fourth in the final moto.

Kiwi Kayne Lamont became the first two-time winner of the 2012 season in the Pirelli MX Development class. The KTM rider was sixth in the first moto, but he bounced back to win moto two and finish second in the final moto to clinch the overall. Lamont now sits nine points in arrears of series leader Dylan Long.

Long was a solid second at Murray Bridge, concluding his weekend with victory in the final moto and he’ll keep the red plate he’s held all season throughout the mid-season break. The podium was completed by Dylan Leary, making it a clean-sweep of the podium for KTM.

Motul Pirelli Suzuki’s Jay Wilson finished fourth overall for the round, while GYTR Yamaha’s Sam Martin was fifth. First moto winner Joel Milesevic had to settle for sixth after suffering a mechanical in moto two, but he finished the weekend with third in moto three.

The Australian Motocross Championship will return for round six following a mid-season break at Hervey Bay in Queensland in Sunday, 1 July. Visit for further information on the Monster Energy MX Nationals series.

2012 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship

Round Five – Murray Bridge, SA

MX1 Overall Results:
1. Todd Waters 72
2. Brad Anderson 63
3. Tye Simmonds 56
4. Lawson Bopping 52
5. Cody Cooper 49
6. Josh Coppins 48
7. Daniel Reardon 40
8. Daniel McCoy 39
9. Dean Porter 33
10. Jay Marmont 30

MX2 Overall Results:
1. Josh Cachia 63
2. Cheyne Boyd 60
3. Ford Dale 53
4. Justin McDonald 49
5. Luke Styke 46
6. Scott Columb 45
7. Lewis Woods 39
8. Kade Mosig 39
9. Errol Willis 37
10. Nick Murray 33

MXD Overall Results:
1. Kayne Lamont 62
2. Dylan Long 58
3. Dylan Leary 52
4. Jay Wilson 49
5. Sam Martin 47
6. Joel Milesevic 45
7. Jarrad Davis 34
8. Michael Crugnale 30
9. Mitch Budd 26
10. John Phillips 25

MX1 Championship Standings (after 5 of 10 rounds):
1. Josh Coppins 301
2. Todd Waters 280
3. Brad Anderson 274
4. Lawson Bopping 255
5. Tye Simmonds 234
6. Cody Cooper 232
7. Jay Marmont 207
8. Jake Moss 171
9. Daniel McCoy 164
10. Daniel Reardon 147

MX2 Championship Standings (after 5 of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 306
2. Ford Dale 274
3. Cheyne Boyd 258
4. Josh Cachia 258
5. Kade Mosig 233
6. Kirk Gibbs 229
7. Adam Monea 215
8. Justin McDonald 192
9. Lewis Woods 173
10. Errol Willis 168

MXD Championship Standings (after 4 of 9 rounds):
1. Dylan Long 201
2. Kayne Lamont 195
3. Samual Martin 195
4. Dylan Leary 193
5. Jay Wilson 159
6. Joel Milesevic 156
7. Kale Makeham 156
8. Mitch Norris 123
9. Mitch Budd 103
10. Dylan Wills 99

InsureMyRide, specialist in Bike and Motorcycle Insurance, for road bikes, sports bikes, scooters, nakeds and classic bikes. Motorcycle Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 AFSL 230859 trading as InsureMyRide. Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 trading as GIO Insurance. Registered Office, Level 28, 266 George Street, Brisbane QLD 4000. InsureMyRide is a brand of AAI Limited. Please read the Product Disclosure Statement before buying this insurance and consider whether it is right for you.