Off Road Dirt Bikes

Dirt Bike - News & Events

Round 3: Raymond Terrace win boosts Coppins into MX Nationals title lead

MX Nationals
MX Nationals
CDR Rockstar Energy Yamaha’s former world number two, Josh Coppins, has taken control of the 2011 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, with his second round win in succession on Sunday, 10 April.

The 34-year-old New Zealander won Raymond Terrace’s third round in NSW to edge nine points ahead in the Pro Open standings, another consistent effort of 2-1-1-2 results in the four 20-minute motos, enough to clinch the overall.

“I wasn’t really sure what to expect today, but the bike was good and we got better starts – I really have to thank CDR Rockstar Energy Yamaha,” Coppins said. “I just rode decent all day, didn’t do anything special, but was just solid and consistent. That’s what I was hoping to do. I knew if I could get good starts and ride like I can then I’d have a good shot to win. That’s what happened.”

On a day where starts were all important, Coppins’ teammate and defending triple champion Jay Marmont, 28, produced a string of fast-starts to score second overall in a stunning 1-2 for the factory Yamaha team.

Wollongong resident Marmont’s 5-3-3-1 results raised him to third in the title standings, while former title leader, Dean Ferris (Monster Energy Kawasaki), rounded out the overall podium with 3-2-2-5 finishes to maintain second in the title chase.

Fourth overall marked a return to form for 2007 champion Dan Reardon (JDR Motorex KTM), the Queenslander still battling a variety of niggling injuries, but managing to qualify first and win the opening moto of the round. Completing the top five in the premier class was Victorian Cheyne Boyd (Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing).

Round four of the 2011 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals will be contested at Murray Bridge in South Australia on Sunday, 8 May. Practice and qualifying will commence at 8:30am with the official opening ceremonies taking place at approximately 10:30am.

2011 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals Championship Standings (after 3 of 9 rounds)

1. Josh Coppins 228
2. Dean Ferris 219
3. Jay Marmont 199
4. Cheyne Boyd 190
5. Lawson Bopping 188
6. Billy Mackenzie 187
7. Ryan Marmont 163
8. Michael Phillips 163
9. Daniel Reardon 142
10. Louis Calvin 132

InsureMyRide, specialist in Bike and Motorcycle Insurance, for road bikes, sports bikes, scooters, nakeds and classic bikes. Motorcycle Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 AFSL 230859 trading as InsureMyRide. Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 trading as GIO Insurance. Registered Office, Level 28, 266 George Street, Brisbane QLD 4000. InsureMyRide is a brand of AAI Limited. Please read the Product Disclosure Statement before buying this insurance and consider whether it is right for you.