Off Road Dirt Bikes

Dirt Bike - News & Events

Cachia claims JDR/KTM’s first win of 2012 MX Nationals at Murray Bridge

Murray Bridge, SA – JDR/KTM Factory Racing’s Josh Cachia has claimed the team’s first victory of the 2012 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, at Murray Bridge in South Australia on Sunday, 20 May.

Cachia, from Carpenter Rocks, was in phenomenal form in South Australia, winning the MX2 class aboard the KTM 250 SX-F. Cachia finished with a fifth in the opening moto before breaking through for a win in moto two, then he sealed the overall with a fighting second to conclude the round.

“In the first moto I rode solid, got stuck behind some people, but that’s racing,” 19-year-old Cachia commented. “If you don’t get a good start you don’t get in clean air, so that was my fault. In moto two I sorted it out, got the holeshot and felt good.

“The feeling from the holeshot continued in the moto and I was feeling good the whole time, so I put down consistent laps and won. In the 30-minute moto, Boydy and I worked hard until the end, so it was sweet. I rode solid and it was good, so now I’m number one for today and that feels good.”

Cachia’s teammate Dan Reardon enjoyed his best performance of the 2012 season to date, taking home seventh overall. Reardon was ninth in moto one despite two falls, eighth in moto two and a strong sixth in the third and final moto for the round.

“The day was better for me, we definitely made some improvements and I feel a little bit more comfortable,” Reardon said. “We’re still not 100 percent, but we’ve got a big break coming up now, so hopefully we’ll come out even stronger in the last half of the season. I don’t like sitting back there, but at the moment that’s where I’m at and I’ll take positives from this result.”

Cachia now sits fourth in the MX2 title chase, while Reardon is 10th on the team’s lone 450 SX-F in the MX1 division.

KTM also claimed a brilliant clean-sweep of the MX Development podium, with Kiwi rising star Kayne Lamont becoming the first two-time winner of 2012. 250 SX two-stroke rider Lamont was sixth in the first moto, but he bounced back to win moto two and finish second in the final moto to clinch the overall.

Choice Motorsports KTM’s Dylan Long was a promising second at Murray Bridge on a 250 SX-F four-stroke, concluding his weekend with victory in the final moto to retain the red plate as series leader. The podium was completed by Dylan Leary on another 250 SX.

First moto winner Joel Milesevic was another to put KTM up front aboard a 250 SX, but he had to settle for sixth after suffering a mechanical in moto two. The talented 16-year-old rookie finished the weekend with third in the final moto.

The MX Nationals will continue at Hervey Bay in Queensland on Sunday, 1 July. 

MX1 Overall Results:
1. Todd Waters 72    
2. Brad Anderson 63    
3. Tye Simmonds 56    
4. Lawson Bopping 52    
5. Cody Cooper 49    
6. Josh Coppins 48    
7. Daniel Reardon (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 40    
8. Daniel McCoy 39     
9. Dean Porter 33    
10. Jay Marmont 30

MX2 Overall Results:
1. Josh Cachia (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 63
2. Cheyne Boyd 60
3. Ford Dale     53
4. Justin McDonald     49
5. Luke Styke 46    
6. Scott Columb 45    
7. Lewis Woods 39    
8. Kade Mosig 39
9. Errol Willis 37    
10. Nick Murray 33

MXD Overall Results:
1. Kayne Lamont (KTM) 62
2. Dylan Long (KTM) 58    
3. Dylan Leary (KTM) 52    
4. Jay Wilson 49    
5. Sam Martin 47    
6. Joel Milesevic (KTM) 45    
7. Jarrad Davis 34     
8. Michael Crugnale 30
9. Mitch Budd 26    
10. John Phillips 25

MX1 Championship Standings (after 5 of 10 rounds):
1. Josh Coppins 301
2. Todd Waters 280
3. Brad Anderson 274
4. Lawson Bopping 255
5. Tye Simmonds 234
6. Cody Cooper 232
7. Jay Marmont 207
8. Jake Moss 171
9. Daniel McCoy 164
10. Daniel Reardon (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 147

MX2 Championship Standings (after 5 of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 306
2. Ford Dale    274
3. Cheyne Boyd 258
4. Josh Cachia (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 258
5. Kade Mosig 233
6. Kirk Gibbs 229
7. Adam Monea 215
8. Justin McDonald 192
9. Lewis Woods 173
10. Errol Willis 168

MXD Championship Standings (after 4 of 9 rounds):
1. Dylan Long (KTM) 201
2. Kayne Lamont (KTM) 195
3. Samual Martin 195
4. Dylan Leary (KTM) 193
5. Jay Wilson 159
6. Joel Milesevic (KTM) 156
7. Kale Makeham (KTM) 156
8. Mitch Norris 123
9. Mitch Budd 103
10. Dylan Wills 99123?9. Mitch Budd 103. 

InsureMyRide, specialist in Bike and Motorcycle Insurance, for road bikes, sports bikes, scooters, nakeds and classic bikes. Motorcycle Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 AFSL 230859 trading as InsureMyRide. Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 trading as GIO Insurance. Registered Office, Level 28, 266 George Street, Brisbane QLD 4000. InsureMyRide is a brand of AAI Limited. Please read the Product Disclosure Statement before buying this insurance and consider whether it is right for you.