Off Road Dirt Bikes

Dirt Bike - News & Events

Cachia claims Coolum MX2 win for JDR/KTM, Lamont crowned MXD champion

InsureMyRide MX Nationals R10 JDR

JDR MX Nationals R10 InsureMyRide

JDR MX Nationals R10 InsureMyRide

Coolum, QLD – JDR/KTM Factory Racing’s Josh Cachia finished a fighting first overall at Coolum’s final round of the MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast over the weekend, 25-26 August.

Cachia was relentless in his final battle for the 2012 MX2 title, picking up his third overall victory of the season aboard the 250 SX-F. The 20-year-old won motos one and three, but stalled while leading the second moto of the weekend.

With those results, Cachia fell short of the title by just six points after entering the weekend 28 in arrears of the lead. Following a breakthrough season, the popular Victorian will now set his sights on contesting the final round of American Motocross in two weeks time.

“I did all I could do,” Cachia commented. “I came out here to win and I did win – I hung it out because that’s what I had to do. I didn’t get all three wins, but I got two wins and one second when I stalled the bike. I’m just happy with the year I’ve had. I get to come out here and race pretty much all my friends, so it’s mad to be part of the motocross family that I’m a part of. I love it and wouldn’t trade it for the world.”

Cachia’s teammate in the MX2 division, Ryan Marmont, was ninth overall at Coolum as he continues his comeback from injury that forced him out of rounds four through eight. Marmont concluded his season with 10-8-9 finishes at the finale.

JDR/KTM Factory Racing MX1 contender Dan Reardon was 15th overall at Coolum following a troublesome final round, which capped off the retiring 2007 series champion’s national motocross career. Reardon was eighth in moto one and 15th in moto two, but finished out of the points in the final moto.

“The main point of this weekend was to finish up with a smile on my face,” Reardon said. “It’s been a magic career, lots of ups and a lot of downs, but I couldn’t have done it without all of the important people’s support. I’m very, very grateful to have been able to do what I have and I’ve met a lot of great people. It’s nice to finish off nice and healthy, strong and ready to jump into a new career path. Today itself didn’t go as plan, but like I said it was more about the feeling itself and I always have a good time at Coolum.”

KTM rising star Kayne Lamont won his first Australian championship in the MX Development category for Under 19s riders, riding the race-proven 250 SX two-stroke. Lamont was second overall at Coolum with 3-2-6 results, celebrating the title win at the conclusion of moto two.

“It was a good day, the sand was tough, but I came away with the championship so that’s really good,” Lamont said. “I’m pretty stoked to come away with this title in Australia, so hopefully I can come back next year in the Lites (MX2).”

Choice Motorsports KTM’s Dylan Long did all he could to challenge Lamont for the title with the overall round win at Coolum, but had to settle for second in the series on the 250 SX-F. Long won motos one and three, with a fourth in the second moto of the weekend.

American development rider Michael Sleeter made a guest appearance at Coolum in the KTM 2 Stroke National and 30-39 Veterans classes, picking up multiple moto wins for sixth and third positions overall respectively aboard a 250 SX.

2012 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship

Round 10 – Coolum, QLD

MX1 Overall Results:

1. Todd Waters 72

2. Josh Coppins 69

3. Cody Cooper 60

4. Brad Anderson 46

5. Dean Porter 43

6. Jay Marmont 42

7. Billy Mackenzie 42

8. Daniel McCoy 40

9. Lawson Bopping 37

10. Jake Moss 36

15. Dan Reardon (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 19

MX2 Overall Results:

1. Josh Cachia (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 72

2. Luke Styke 69

3. Kade Mosig 52

4. Ford Dale 50

5. Cheyne Boyd 45

6. Brock Winston 44

7. Scott Columb 42

8. Kirk Gibbs 40

9. Ryan Marmont (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 36

10. Justin McDonald 32

MXD Overall Results:

1. Dylan Long (KTM) 68

2. Kayne Lamont (KTM) 57

3. Sam Martin 52

4. Jay Wilson 47

5. Mitch Norris 46

6. Kale Makeham (KTM) 46

7. Wade Hunter 46

8. Dylan Leary 44

9. Luke Clout 44

10. Daniel Banks (KTM) 33

MX1 Championship Standings (after 10 of 10 rounds):

1. Josh Coppins 618

2. Todd Waters 607

3. Cody Cooper 509

4. Brad Anderson 509

5. Lawson Bopping 506

6. Jay Marmont 374

7. Jake Moss 347

8. Dean Porter 331

9. Daniel McCoy 329

10. Dan Reardon (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 320

MX2 Championship Standings (after 10 of 10 rounds):

1. Ford Dale 571

2. Luke Styke 569

3. Josh Cachia (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 565

4. Kade Mosig 499

5. Kirk Gibbs 441

6. Cheyne Boyd 411

7. Adam Monea 409

8. Scott Columb 360

9. Justin McDonald 320

10. Lewis Woods 306

16. Ryan Marmont (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 149

MXD Championship Standings (after 9 of 9 rounds):

1. Kayne Lamont (KTM) 521

2. Dylan Long (KTM) 500

3. Dylan Leary 462

4. Jay Wilson 439

5. Kale Makeham (KTM) 428

6. Sam Martin 411

7. Mitch Norris 322

8. Wade Hunter 268

9. Joel Milesevic (KTM) 230

10. Mitch Budd 201

InsureMyRide, specialist in Bike and Motorcycle Insurance, for road bikes, sports bikes, scooters, nakeds and classic bikes. Motorcycle Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 AFSL 230859 trading as InsureMyRide. Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Insurance is issued by AAI Limited ABN 48 005 297 807 trading as GIO Insurance. Registered Office, Level 28, 266 George Street, Brisbane QLD 4000. InsureMyRide is a brand of AAI Limited. Please read the Product Disclosure Statement before buying this insurance and consider whether it is right for you.